Friday, 19 July 2013

University Of Mumbai,India
Founded in 1857, the University of Bombay is one of the first three oldest public state universities in India, located in the city of Mumbai in the state of Maharashtra. The other two, also founded in 1857, are the University of Calcutta and the University of Madras located in the Presidency towns of Calcutta and Madras. It is abbreviated as either UoM, standing for University of Mumbai or MU for Mumbai University. The University Of Mumbai is one of the premier universities in India.
The University of Mumbai primarily imparts education through its numerous affiliated colleges, which are located in Mumbai city, Mumbai suburbs, and six coastal districts in Maharashtra: Navi Mumbai, Thane, Raigad, Konkan, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg.It offers Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral degrees apart from diplomas and certificates in many disciplines. The language of instruction for most courses is English. Most of the public colleges in Mumbai, Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri, and Sindhudurg are affiliated to the University of Mumbai. A majority of private colleges located in these places, which offer professional courses such as engineering, are also affiliated to MU. One of its two campuses in Mumbai is located in Kalina, Santacruz. The campus houses academic and administrative departments. Another campus located in Fort carries out administrative work only. Several world-renowned institutes in Mumbai were affiliated to the university. Most of them are now autonomous institutes or deemed universities.


Post a Comment