Sunday, 14 July 2013

Trentino is an autonomous province of Italy. Trentino is, along with South Tyrol, one of the two provinces which make up the region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol, which is designated an autonomous region under the constitution. The province is divided into 217 comuni (municipalities). Its capital is the town of Trento, historically known in English as Trent. The province covers an area of more than 6,000 km2 (2,300 sq mi), with a total population of about 0.5 million. Trentino is renowned for its mountains, such as the Dolomites, which are part of the Alps.
The province is generally known as Trentino. The name derives from Trento, the capital city of the province, which was also known historically as Trent in English. Originally, the term was used by the local population only to refer to the city and its immediate surroundings. Under former Austrian rule, the common German name for the region was Südtirol, meaning South Tyrol with reference to its geographic position as the Southern part of Tyrol, Welschtirol or Welschsüdtirol, meaning Italian Tyrol or Italian South Tyrol.
The corresponding Italian terms were Tirolo meridionale, that was historically used to describe the wider southern part of the County of Tyrol, specifically Trentino and sometimes also today's South Tyrol, or Tirolo italiano. In its wider sense, Trentino was first used around 1848 in an article by a member of the Frankfurt National Assembly; it became a popular term among leftist intellectual circles in Austria.
Since the new 1972 autonomous status, the administrative name of the province is Autonomous Province of Trento (Italian: Provincia autonoma di Trento, German: Autonome Provinz Trient). The German historical name Südtirol was assigned to the province of Bolzano.


Post a Comment